Get Out the Map.

11 Nov

If you close your eyes and spin a globe where would you land? Where would you want to land?

In researching fashion photos for my Tumblr, I stumbled upon a blog called Landscape Lifescape and was completely mesmerized. It is dedicated to real-time nature and landscape photos.

I spent a long time looking through the vast archive and finally had to pull myself away. I feel like I just got back from a vacation after staring at all these amazingly detailed images.

These photos got me thinking about perception. Beauty, as we have discussed before, comes in all sorts of packages. I believe it exists in its purest form in nature.

Culture, tradition and heritage shape the earth. Stereotypes and media coverage do not. Sometimes we judge a place before we have seen it. I know I have.

Imagine where you would choose to go if you picked from a book of photos with no captions.

Luella says…Visit the World

(all images below are sourced from LandscapeLifescape)

GREENLAND GLACIER

LASPI BAY, BLACK SEA

PATAGONIA, ARGENTINA

ALIF ALIF, MALDIVES

NORTH CAROLINA COUNTRYSIDE

WONDER LAKE, CHINA

WATERFALL AT MIDNIGHT, ICELAND

PICTURED ROCKS, LAKE SUPERIOR MICHIGAN

PROVENCE, FRANCE

LAVENDAR FIELDS IN FROME, ENGLAND

PAULOSE, WASHINGTON

FARAYA, LEBANON

WINTER IN SWEDEN

KOH SAMED, THAILAND

HUNZA, GILGIT PAKISTAN

MONTREAL, CANADA

 

TYSON, TEXAS

UUMMANNAQ, GREENLAND POPULATION 1,299

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

FJORD IN DENMARK

BENMORE, NEW ZEALAND

METHONI, GREECE

DOMBAY, RUSSIA

MOSTNICA GORGE IN SLOVENIA

DERBYSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM

LAKE BASIN, COLORADO

OHERI, MACEDONIA

DOOR COUNTY, WISCONSIN

Next time you are planning a trip seek out the location less traveled.

Immerse yourself in the culture and don’t take a guided tour. Live amongst the natives and do as they do.

2 Responses to “Get Out the Map.”

  1. olivia.v.b @frenglish_style November 14, 2010 at 1:52 PM #

    OMG those pictures are breath taking!!!
    If I close my eyes I can totally see myself in this gorgeous blue ocean in the Maldives islands!!!!

    I must go see that website, I need a little mind vacation, get out of this cold automn!!!

    Thanks for letting me know about the Audrey Hepburn picture you’ve found!!! I love it!! I was very nice of you!!!

    xxxx
    Olivia

    • Luella says November 15, 2010 at 3:39 PM #

      Hi Olivia,
      I totally agree. The colors and the photos were so unbelievable I literally had to stop after a certain point so the post would not be too long. Hugs to you ~

Leave a Reply

