I Pledge to Read the Written Word.

26 Oct

 

I love books. I hate the Kindle. I am sorry my husband is going to kill me for saying that but I simply won’t get on board. I love technology and embrace advancement but I can’t give up on the treasure of a real book.

 

Every Summer my Mother used to challenge my sister and I to see who could finish the most books. Unlike sports, Nintendo or Science; this I won every time. (Sorry Les)

I think it helped solidify an already present obsession with the written word. I love stories and details and there is something so rewarding about the resolute finality of placing a finished book on a shelf and starting a new one.

 

Dear Earth, Universe and Time,

I hope I never have to say goodbye to libraries and book shelves.  I want to turn the page of my book, I want to write notes in the margin, I want to pass it on to someone I know will benefit as much as I did.

Love, Luella

 

Some things are worth holding on to. (literally) If I had endless time this post would be 100 books deep.

Luella says…Save the Bookmark

A haunting book detailing Frank Lloyd Wright’s muse Mamah Borthwick and their illicit affair and tragedy in the early 1900′s. Literally couldn’t put it down. (Luella READ IT)


A frank and honest autobiography on the drug filled world of Anthony Kiedis during his rise to fame as lead singer of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Easy read and extremely rich with details. (Luella READ IT)


Emily Bronte’s only published novel which was originally written under the name Ellis Bell. An age-old tale of deep unresolved passion that led to destruction and despair. One of my all time favorites. (Luella READ IT)

 

The story of Pat Tillman and his choice to leave a lucrative career in the NFL and fight for our country post 9-11. His death and the mystery surrounding it is detailed in this book and THE PAT TILLMAN STORY, a documentary which was very well received at Sundance.  (Luella is READING IT)

 

A novel about the Mystery of the World’s most expensive bottle of wine and the journey of how and where it came to be. Did Thomas Jefferson personally own this bottle that was auctioned off in 1985? Read on to find out. (Luella has STARTED IT)

 

Is a novel about one man’s search for the happiest places in the world. How does one’s culture and habits affect their overall state of mind? (RECOMMENDED by Derek Sivers)

 

Dave Cullen’s harrowing and detailed account of the Columbine massacre. He was a local journalist first on the scene back in 1999 and took these last 10 years to analyze, search and detail the entire account from the an unbiased and honest perspective. Couldn’t put it down. Hard subject but very well written. (Luella READ IT)

 

The book which inspired THE SOCIAL NETWORK. Saw the movie this weekend and was intrigued to find out the real cast of characters and what really happened at the inception of Facebook. (Luella is BUYING IT)

 

My husband and I spent some time in Venice on our honeymoon and we went to the Peggy Guggenheim museum on the banks of the Grand canal. I left more fascinated by her story then the priceless Picasso, Kandinsky, Dali and Jackson Pollock art pieces we saw. This book details her life. She was blessed by wealth but cursed by reality. I look forward to this book. (Luella BOUGHT IT)


I have loved this book, since I watched the movie with my Mother a million years ago and became obsessed. Isak Dinesen was really Karen Blixen from Copenhagen, Denmark. One of the benefits of working for a Danish company for 8 years, was that I actually got to go to her home on the outskirts of Copenhagen, in Rungstedlund and visit where she was born, wrote all of her renowned literary works and returned to after 17 years in Africa. It is a treasured memory, go if you are ever in Denmark. (Luella READ IT)


A scientific approach and study on how one can manipulate their chances for survival. In the middle of it and very interesting! (Luella is READING IT)

 

One of my favorite books ever. Dramatic tale of the rise of a lowly country servant to the inner circle of the King in 17th century England. Large read at over 900 pages but reads like a short story. If you are into this era, you must read it. (Luella READ IT)

 

A skeptic on marriage and love, the author explores and learns to accept the  idea of marriage on her own terms. (RECOMMENDED by Derek Sivers)

 

Dominick Dunne, amongst many other things, was a constant contributor to Vanity Fair. I loved his articles and always wanted more. After his death in 2009, his publishers reprinted some of his earlier novels. I read People Like Us on my honeymoon and couldn’t put it down but this one has received even better reviews. This is an alias/fictitious  recount of Dominick’s rise and fall in high society in the 1950′s. (Luella BOUGHT IT)


A memoir of survival and perseverance to better her life on her own. She went from homeless to Harvard with no mentor or college prepatory. Inspired after just reading the foreword. (Luella is BUYING IT)

 

Read this 8 years ago and can’t say enough about it. Krakauer was an editor for OUTSIDE magazine and was assigned a story on civilians paying their way to climb Mt. Everest. Ended up being caught in one of the worst tragedies in the mountain’s history. Didn’t put it down. Such a good book. (Luella READ IT)


An explanation of the art of joy and how to achieve it. Learning how to be aware of the present and embrace it. (RECOMMENDED by Derek Sivers)

 

McDougall tracks down members of the reclusive Tarahumara Indian tribe in the Mexican Copper Canyons. After being repeatedly injured as a runner himself, McDougall marvels at the tribe’s ability to run ultra distances (over 100 miles) at incredible speeds, without getting the routine injuries of most American runners. Excited to get into this! (RECOMMENDED)


A warm yet vivid portrayal of depression as written by an author who suffers from it himself. So many people encounter this in some form or another during their life. This book allows the reader to know they are not alone in their plight. (RECOMMENDED by Maria Bello)

 

I read this book 6 years ago and again couldn’t put it down. It reads like a love story. John Adams fought through so much adversity in his days as president. He was NOT the popular choice. His dedication to education, his family, his country and his wife makes for beautiful reading. I highly suggest this for anyone who would enjoy a blend of history, love and sacrifice.

You too can make the PLEDGE.

Support your local bookstores.

12 Responses to “I Pledge to Read the Written Word.”

  1. Zully October 26, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

    I FULLY TAKE THE PLEDGE WITH YOU. I’ve been tempted by the Kindle’s convenience factor, but my love for feeling and smelling the worn or even whisk pages of a book far outweighs an electronic reading device. There is just an indescribable sense of accomplishment when you place your finished book along side it’s other companions in the book shelf.

    • Ruth Adame October 26, 2010 at 9:17 PM #

      Hear,hear! I love reading a book and joined my first book club in 5th grade.I will never have my fill and must always have a book in arms distance.

      • everton terrace October 27, 2010 at 7:38 AM #

        Wow, such a varied list. Your descriptions make me want to read them all. My daughter is just like you. I think she would rather read than do just about anything. She is in law school right now and when I asked her what her dream job would be, she said – to read for a living. She, surprisingly HAS embraced the Kindle. She likes to use it when she travels because she can take as many books as she wants. Can’t imagine she will ever give up the real thing though.

      • Luella says October 27, 2010 at 10:02 AM #

        Hi Jeanette! I am actually a huge techie nerd but I just can’t get into the Kindle. I think a part of me is worried that books will go the way of the cd if I join the force. Your daughter seems like a kindred spirit to me! Hope she is doing better with the break up. Hugs to you and Happy Halloween.

      • Luella says October 27, 2010 at 10:00 AM #

        Thanks Ruth! You should see our nightstands!! Organized chaos I call it with all the books I am either reading or starting. Hugs to you!

    • Luella says October 27, 2010 at 9:59 AM #

      Thanks Zully! I fell in love with the concept when I saw the link on someone elses blog. This I hope to remain “old school” about. Hugs to you xo

  2. Jim Morgan October 27, 2010 at 11:40 AM #

    Laura – Accidental Billionaire and Sam Adams are excellent choices …I would recommend Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand to any young person who pays taxes…love Dad

    • Luella says October 27, 2010 at 11:42 AM #

      Dad thanks for your suggestion. Love it! I think you meant John Adams though. You’re a beer maker and brew master so we will let this slide. You are remaining true to your passion! ha ha… love you.

  3. Dave Cullen, author of Columbine October 27, 2010 at 2:55 PM #

    That is a great list. Thanks for including me on it, Luella, and such kind words.

    For anyone looking for more info, some links: Columbine intro video, my Columbine book site, Columbine research site and Columbine Teacher’s/Instructors Guide.

    • Luella says October 27, 2010 at 3:08 PM #

      Dave, wow thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I was in college when it happened and to me it was like the Challenger exploding or 9-11 in that I remember exactly where I was and just how tragic I felt for the kids. I think your thoughtful and detail rich account is the closure at least I was searching for. Best to you and Happy Halloween. – Luella

  4. Chéri September 17, 2012 at 4:23 AM #

    Reblogged this on Cacoethes Scribendi™ and commented:
    I pledge to read the printed word, too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Gothic love story | PosyRosy - August 7, 2012

    [...] a little vintage mystery. Like this simple but effective pile with vases of sweet flowers found on Luella Says. Then how mysterious is this gorgeous creation from Ottolines Oddities on Etsy, a hollowed out book [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

