Estee & Aerin says.

20 Oct

  

I love Peonies. They are one of my favorites flowers. I had them on the tables for our wedding in various ball jars, green depression glass and white hobnail vases. It was so beautiful. When I was creating the aesthetic in my head, I knew I wanted it to be vintage-antique. Truly the less it looked like a wedding, the better.

 I read an article a while back from either Vanity Fair or Vogue discussing New York socialite Aerin Lauder and how she puts on the perfect dinner party for her high-profile friends.

 

(via Vanity Fair)

(via ELLE DECOR)

The main take away, (besides desperately wanting to be invited) was her quoting her grandmother, Estee Lauder, in saying “One should never have matching china for it looks rented.”

(via blueskybutterflystudio)

 I loved that concept. I decided against following the tradition of picking out a china pattern, and instead collected vintage mismatched dinner plates to use for our head table of 22 people. What could be more meaningful than serving the most important people in our lives on something  we then get to keep with us forever?  

 

 

There are a couple of things to remember when doing this.

  • Start well enough ahead so you can space out the research and expense.
  • Make sure you buy plates that are AT LEAST 9 inches across, 10 inches is the best. Vintage china comes in various sizes and I made the mistake of buying plates that were too small to use for dinner.
  • A lot of sellers specialize in china, so research all they have for sale, so if you find more than one, you can combine shipping.
  • Established brands are Haviland, Homer Laughlin, Bristol and my favorite is Spode.

Flea markets, estate sales, Etsy and Ebay are the best resources. I did a little shopping on Etsy for you. Just click on the photos for details.

 

Luella says…Add a Splash of Significance

 I also LOVE these other items I found while I was searching for the plates. Why not round out your table?

Vintage china plates adorned with modern artist lettering.

Vintage platter with Pink Lady Artist motif.

Vintage Clay Lace Platter (various sizes available).

Vintage patina tray. Perfect for a candle & vase centerpiece.

Vintage Pyrex glass bud vase.

 

Now each time we throw a dinner party I get to use our plates and watch the significance grow.

Thank you Estee for your clever advice, thank you Aerin for passing it on.

8 Responses to “Estee & Aerin says.”

  1. Callooh Callay October 20, 2010 at 5:19 PM #

    Wow, the china you’ve chosen is just stunning! I especially like the blue and white. Thanks for including my Bavarian china!

    Susan

    • Luella says October 21, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

      Thanks for having a great item to feature and for visiting my blog!! Hugs

  2. Danette Darbonne October 20, 2010 at 6:01 PM #

    Hi Lovely blog you’ve got going. Thank you for including my Solian Ware Floral and Filigree Staffordshire Green plate!
    ♥Danette

  3. everton terrace October 21, 2010 at 10:03 AM #

    You have a table that seats 22? Wow, I’d love to be invited to one of YOUR parties. I have a modern home with some vintage touches and have only recently been feeling the itch of vintage dinnerware. I think it started when my mother gave me a lovely vintage silverware set. Love that lace platter.

    • Luella says October 21, 2010 at 10:38 AM #

      It was at our wedding and our coordinator, Susan made a kings table for us. I wanted it to be like a grandiose dinner party and it definitely felt like it afterward.

      I too LOVE that platter. She makes them in a bunch of different sizes so it may need to be a Christmas gift. Hugs to you!

  4. ayn October 24, 2010 at 2:49 PM #

    Such beautiful plates with so many different floral personalities!

    Love your detailed blog!

    • Luella says October 25, 2010 at 11:17 AM #

      Thanks so much, hope you will check back in the future!! Hugs ~

Leave a Reply

