Message About a Bottle.

1 Oct

               

I love wine. I could put a thousand quotes from various playwrights, novelists and inventors detailing its significance throughout history but I won’t. I don’t need to. It is a universal love for so many of us. In my opinion, it breeds good conversation and makes food taste richer. When the taste is right, I dare say there is nothing much better.            

             

It truly is a delight for me to come home from a long day and indulge in a perfect glass of wine. My personal white wine maturation story is similar to most I would assume. (Red wine will be a different post, I promise) I started with Riesling, dabbled with German Gewürztraminer, Spätlese and Auslese, danced over to Chardonnay (broke up with it though soon after), landed at Pinot Grigio comfortably for a long while and then stumbled upon Sauvignon Blanc where I blissfully live now.               

            

            

 I have become somewhat of a “Sauvignon Snob.” I prefer to only drink it from New Zealand and (insert my husband rolling his eyes here), the Marlborough Region to be exact. According to Wikipedia, “the strong contrast between hot sunny days and cool nights help vintners extend the ripening period of their vines like nowhere else, resulting in unique expressions of their grapes. The area is widely considered by many critics to produce the world’s best Sauvignon Blanc. One wine critic said that “no other region in the world can match Marlborough, the northeastern corner of New Zealand’s South Island, which seems to be the best place in the world to grow Sauvignon blanc grapes.” 

 

 

 

To an untrained palette, it has the most delicious bouquet of florals and fruits with a perfect finish. If you can’t travel to New Zealand in the near future, why not drink a little bit of it instead? I have put the time in, (ok JD and I have put the time in) to research these and feel confident with our “MUST ” choices below. 

(Click on the FULL bottle photo to open  the winery’s website; not the bottle unfortunately.)      

Luella’s 11 Wines to Love, Taste and Serve             

              

90 points . $13.99

 

             

89 points . $18.99

 

            

91 points . $26.99

 

               

90 points . $10.99

 

             

89 points . $11.99

 

                

90 points . $17.99

 

              

91 points . $19.99

 

         

        

90 points . $14.29

 

  

90 points . $17.99

 

  

91 points . $14.99

  

            

92 points . $26.99

 

“Shall I compare thee to a Summer’s day?” Yes William, lets because Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough, New Zealand is just that. Summer in a bottle; enjoyed all year round. Wine can soothe your soul. Indulge and let it.             

 Happy Friday.            

            

  Related Articles           

  

One Response to “Message About a Bottle.”

  1. JD October 4, 2010 at 8:18 AM #

    Everything about this post makes me happy…and thirsty!

Leave a Reply

