Haute Halloween.

12 Oct

 

Halloween is almost upon us. Costumes, make-up, parties and candy = I’m in. I will say however; every year I struggle with What to Wear?

While some of us can get into the whole transformation from “Hi, my name is…” to put “sexy” before anything you can think of; I can’t. I studied method acting in college and my teacher always used to tell me, “lose your cool card, become ONE with the character.”

While it was a bit easier for me on stage, picking out a costume is a challenge.  I don’t want to have blood dripping down my face. I don’t want to wear a rubber mask. Isn’t sexy supposed to be subtle? I want to be me, but just dressed up as someone else. You know what I mean?

 

 

My solution/mantra every year has been the same. Buy vintage, add in a little DIY and overall less is more. With this in mind, I present costumes to consider for this years festivities.

They are super inexpensive and can be cut, sewn or finished off with fun accessories. Channel your inner Project Runway and make something that is totally you – just portraying someone else. You might even find you can wear it  in the real world after Halloween is over. How do you say perfect in French?

  

Luella says…Let’s make it a Haute Halloween this year

BETTY DRAPER

HUSBAND / BOYFRIEND / PARTNER role: Don Draper 

 

BARBRA STREISAND Sailor Gown

 

JAYNE MANSFIELD - Sailor Dress

HUSBAND / BOYFRIEND / PARTNER role: Ship Captain, Skipper

 

EDIE SEDGWICK - Mod 60's Girl

HUSBAND / BOYFRIEND / PARTNER role: Andy Warhol

 

Gloria Swanson, Marion Davies, Constance Bennett and Jean Harlow OKTOBERFEST Ladies

HUSBAND / BOYFRIEND / PARTNER role:

German Beer Drinking Man, Oktoberfest attendee

BIANCA JAGGER – Studio 54 Girl

STUDIO 54

HUSBAND / BOYFRIEND / PARTNER role: Mick Jagger, Steve Rubell, Andy Warhol

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Haute Halloween.”

  1. Kat October 12, 2010 at 6:23 PM #

    such glamourous ideas for halloween! thanks so much for showing off our vintage clothes. :)

    • Luella says October 12, 2010 at 6:40 PM #

      Thanks so much! I loved many of your items and will definitely check back in with you at your Etsy store. :)

  2. Holly October 12, 2010 at 7:50 PM #

    So many drool worthy picks! Thanks for featuring my dress here!

    • Luella says October 12, 2010 at 10:23 PM #

      Thanks so much!! Hope you check back in with us, hugs

  3. everton terrace October 13, 2010 at 9:24 AM #

    They are all fabulous. I like the Mad Men dresses best and would wear them on any day. I especially like your advice to party like your boss is watching – going to send that one to my daughter!

    • Luella says October 13, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

      Me too! I love MAD MEN and told my husband I was going to be Betty Draper this year. Thanks so much for checking out my blog. Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

